The Jamgon Kongtrul Archive Project


Video documentations from 1987 to 1991

The development of the archive

Shortly after my first encounter with Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoche in July 1987, he encouraged me to accompany him on his travels and document his activities on video. Following his invitation, I travelled with Rinpoche to more than ten countries in three continents from 1987 to 1991. The result was an extensive video archive of teachings and rituals recorded on different analogue video formats in various qualities. They are today, a precious treasure of documentry of the 3rd Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoche and other masters of Tibetan Buddhism.

 

Buddhism involves a spiritual philosophy that points the way to self-liberation through continual transmission of the teachings and practices from master to master. My objective is to make this invaluable video material in the form of teachings, practice instructions and rituals available to a wide audience especially for those who are searching for inspiration and authentic guidance, and those who are interested in developing insight into the nature of their mind. It also shows the way of coping with life like dealing with suffering and dissolving habits, with the goal of generating wisdom and loving-kindness and compassion for all beings. 

 

Meeting with the 3rd Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoche changed and greatly enriched my life. A Bodhisattva and a great scholar, who, with his warmth and clear-sightedness, humour and loving severity, opened my heart, mind and potentials. With unconditional commitment, he guided me, always subtly supportive in the background. The 3rd Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoche lived what he taught: wisdom and compassion in action. My heart is fillet with gratitude and humility for the unbroken continuing bond with this great master. 

   

I dedicate this project to Tenzin Dorjee and all members of the Jamgon Kongtrul Labrang

for their unwavering devotion and immeasurable work for the 3rd and 4th Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoche.

 

Valerio Albisetti 

 

 

Download
Letter from Tenzin Dorjee, general secretary Jamgon Kongtrul Labrang, to the launching of the project
Jamgon Kongtrul Archive Project Launch 1
Adobe Acrobat Dokument 92.5 KB

Das Projekt Jamgon Kongtrul Archiv


Videodokumentationen von 1987 bis 1991

Die Entstehung des Archivs

Bereits kurze Zeit nach meiner ersten Begegnung mit Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoche im Juli 1987 ermutigte er mich, ihn auf seinen Reisen zu begleiten und seine Aktivitäten auf Video zu dokumentieren. Dieser Einladung folgend bereiste ich von 1987 bis 1991 zusammen mit Rinpoche über zehn Länder auf drei Kontinenten. So entstand ein umfangreiches Videoarchiv, aufgezeichnet in verschiedenen analogen Videoformaten in unterschiedlicher Qualität: ein wertvoller Schatz von Dokumentationen des 3. Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoche und auch anderen Meistern des Tibetischen Buddhismus.

 

Der Buddhismus beinhaltet eine spirituelle Philosophie, die den Weg zur Selbstbefreiung aufzeigt und welche von Meister zu Meister übertragen und weitergegeben wird. Mein Ziel ist es, dieses wertvolle Videomaterial in Form von Vorträgen, Meditationsanleitungen und Ritualen einem breiten Publikum zugänglich zu machen. Es ist für alle, die auf der Suche nach Inspiration und authentischer Anleitung sind und sich mit der Natur ihres Geistes auseinandersetzen wollen. Dies ermöglicht den Zugang zu neuen Wegen der Lebensbewältigung, wie zum Beispiel dem Umgang mit Leiden oder der Auflösung alter Gewohnheiten, mit dem Ziel, Weisheit und liebevolles Mitgefühl für alle Lebewesen zu entfalten.

 

Die Begegnung mit dem 3. Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoche hat mein Leben massgeblich bereichert und verändert. Ein grosser Gelehrter und Boddhisattva, der mit seiner Herzlichkeit und Klarsicht, mit Humor und liebevoller Strenge mir das Herz und den Geist für neue Erfahrungen öffnete. Mit bedingungslosem Engagement zeigte er mir die Richtung und wirkte stets subtil unterstützend im Hintergrund. Der 3. Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoche lebte was er lehrte: Weisheit und Mitgefühl in Aktion. Mein Herz ist mit Dankbarkeit und Demut erfüllt für die ungebrochene Verbundenheit mit diesem grossen Meister.

 

Ich widme dieses Projekt Tenzin Dorjee und allen Mitgliedern des Jamgon Kongtrul Labrang

für ihre unerschütterliche Hingabe und unermessliche Arbeit für den 3. und 4. Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoche.

  

Valerio Albisetti

 

 

Download
Brief von Tenzin Dorjee, Generalsekretär Jamgon Kongtrul Labrang, zum Projektstart
Jamgon Kongtrul Archive Project Launch 1
Adobe Acrobat Dokument 92.5 KB